My Cart


Grace and Truth Books

Hunting in the Highlands: Baker Family Adventures, Book 7

$14.50 USD $16.00 USD

C. R. Hedgcock

5.5" x 8.5"
380 pages


Hunting in the Highlands

Baker Family Adventures, Book 7

“Andy braced his hands against the wooden fence, his legs flew, and his boots slapped the muddy ground on the other side. Its sogginess sucked away his momentum as he started running again.

“Halt there!” a voice commanded.

Andy jolted to a standstill, panting, his heart pounding hard. The poacher had stopped on the opposite side of the burn, uphill amongst the tree trunks. His bow was drawn and an arrow glinted angrily on the string.”
After the perils of Iceland, the Bakers plan to enjoy a relaxing vacation with their relatives, the Drakes, in Scotland. Andy goes deer stalking with Uncle Clive, Abby goes horseback riding and sightseeing with Phil and their cousin Millie. Tom travels with his parents to the Isle of Bute.

Three incidents throw the trip into a spiral of confusion, and, scattered across Scotland, the Bakers have clues that don’t seem to belong to the same puzzle. A government weapon has fallen into the hands of a top-secret  academy, and the only way to stop the spread of dangerous lies is to find the weapon and discover the significance of the name ‘Haelix.’

Who was the desperate poacher? Can Millie help Detective Mortimer solve the mystery while the Bakers’ favorite secret agent is being pursued in a relentless Highland manhunt? And can Phil and the twins reach him before it’s too late?  Find out in Hunting in the Highlands. 

A race across the moors, a clue beneath the waves of Loch Ness, and an ever-shifting game of strategy—everyone is hunting for a long-hidden message that could affect the future of the free world.


“C. R. Hedgcock’s stories are fun, intriguing, and good reads for the whole family. Her characters are relatable and teach children great lessons through their examples. Get ready for adventure, suspense, and lots of family fun!” – John J. Horn, author of the Men of Grit series

“I read the first two books in the Baker Family Adventure series and I’ve re-read them several times since. They teach important Biblical principles while at the same time your heart is racing from excitement and suspense! Thank you, Miss Hedgcock, for clean, exhilarating and God-honoring mysteries.” – Journey15 years old

Volumes in the Baker Family Adventures:

  1. Summer of Suspense
  2. Peril on Providence Island
  3. Riddle of the Ruby Ring
  4. The Treacherous Trail
  5. Prisoner of the Pyrenees
  6. Iceland Intrigue
  7. Hunting in the Highlands
  8. Rescue in the Rockies