My Cart


Grace and Truth Books

Rescue in the Rockies: Baker Family Adventures, Book 8

$16.00 USD $17.50 USD

C.R. Hedgcock

5.5" x 8.5"
480 pages


Rescue in the Rockies

Baker Family Adventures, Book 8

Fergus didn’t waste a second. He ducked under the horse’s belly and scrambled to mount on the left side, then wound the rope binding his wrists around the saddle-horn for leverage. Bellowing a Yeehaw!, he kicked the big sorrel’s sides. In a burst of speed it took off, yanking the rope out of Kent’s hand. “Hey!” Kent yelled, mad. “Come back!”

It’s springtime and the Bakers are living the dream. Abby is helping her grandparents set up a guest ranch, Phil is visiting Spain, and Andy and Tom are on the farm entertaining three visitors from Scotland. Mr. Baker suggests a road trip to the guest ranch in Wyoming—what better opportunity for Fergus, Dougal, and Wylie to work hard, meet cowboys, and see the West? The lads are all for it and embrace their new surroundings with gusto, while the whole family gets the chance to re-forge bonds with Grandpa and Grandma Baker.

Mustangs, cattle, and roping lessons fade into the background when Jigson arrives, asking Abby to help identify a woman she met in Iceland once before. Meanwhile, Phil seems to offend Briosa at every turn, and Andy catches sight of Fergus’s growing inner turmoil about where he belongs in the world.

When Fergus feels himself being cornered into a future he doesn’t want, he snaps into the survival instincts he knows so well, seizing the opportunity to live wild in the mountains before anyone can stop him. Unbeknown to him, someone is hunting him down to offer a glimmer of hope that is as appealing as it is dangerous—but will it truly give rest to his soul and end his desperate attempts to be free? Or will it push him farther away from what he yearns for … the only home that can ever satisfy him?


“C. R. Hedgcock’s stories are fun, intriguing, and good reads for the whole family. Her characters are relatable and teach children great lessons through their examples. Get ready for adventure, suspense, and lots of family fun!” – John J. Horn, author of the Men of Grit series

“I read the first two books in the Baker Family Adventure series and I’ve re-read them several times since. They teach important Biblical principles while at the same time your heart is racing from excitement and suspense! Thank you, Miss Hedgcock, for clean, exhilarating and God-honoring mysteries.” – Journey15 years old

Previous volumes in the Baker Family Adventures:

  1. Summer of Suspense
  2. Peril on Providence Island
  3. Riddle of the Ruby Ring
  4. The Treacherous Trail
  5. Prisoner of the Pyrenees
  6. Iceland Intrigue
  7. Hunting in the Highlands