My Cart


Grace and Truth Books

The Treacherous Trail: Baker Family Adventures, Book 4

$13.50 USD $15.00 USD

C. R. Hedgcock

5.5" x 8.5"
292 pages


The Treacherous Trail

Baker Family Adventures Series, Book 4

The dark beast with yellow eyes came careening towards her at full speed, its muzzle a mess of dirt and foamy saliva. Abby’s shoulders tensed up with a jerk, and she was stiff as a board. A last-minute reflex made her pull the trigger, and the flare shot out with a bang and a puff of gunpowder.

The beast swerved, paused, and then wrinkled its muzzle afresh in a ferocious display of bared gums and piercing canines. Too tired to run, too tense to think, too frightened to scream, Abby did nothing as the wolf lunged towards her. Its face was all she could see, its ominous growl the only sound in her ears.

A Wilderness Vacation turns Wild

The Bakers and the Wilburs have become such good friends that they decide to vacation together at a lovely wilderness lodge. While the ladies and girls enjoy the lodge’s luxurious facilities, the men and boys go camping in the surrounding wild. They expect their greatest thrills to come from horse-riding, canoeing, and hiking, but the trip changes when they find an injured hiker.

Then the hiker disappears with most of their supplies, and they’re stranded with little food, no communication, and a long trip back to civilization. What’s more — there are some very strange things going on in this forest. The mysterious hiker seems to be at the center of them.

Mr. Baker must get his team back to safety with no supplies or means of contact, saddled with a thief who will not speak. Phil is forced to act like a criminal when thrown into a company of bad men, and the twins must survive in the wilderness with a man they do not trust.

About the Author


“C. R. Hedgcock’s stories are fun, intriguing, and good reads for the whole family. Her characters are relatable and teach children great lessons through their examples. Get ready for adventure, suspense, and lots of family fun!” – John J. Horn, author of the Men of Grit series

“I read the first two books in the Baker Family Adventure series and I’ve re-read them several times since. They teach important Biblical principles while at the same time your heart is racing from excitement and suspense! Thank you, Miss Hedgcock, for clean, exhilarating and God-honoring mysteries.” – Journey15 years old

Volumes in the Baker Family Adventures:

  1. Summer of Suspense
  2. Peril on Providence Island
  3. Riddle of the Ruby Ring
  4. The Treacherous Trail
  5. Prisoner of the Pyrenees
  6. Iceland Intrigue
  7. Hunting in the Highlands
  8. Rescue in the Rockies