My Cart


Our offices will be closed until Tuesday, May 21. We will resume shipping orders at that time.

Grace and Truth Books

The Reward of Childhood Truth

$5.50 USD $6.75 USD

80 pages

A new edition with fresh, new beautiful cover art. Grace and Truth Books' best children’s story on truthfulness. How God honors honesty is illustrated in two stories. The first and key story, The Reward of Childhood Truth, tells of the refreshing and surprising honesty of two brothers, which leads to many blessings both for their own family and a neighbor.

The second story, Little Mary’s First and Last Falsehood, shows how when we begin on the path of falsehood, it leads to covering our lies with other lies, until we are trapped in a dilemma of misery and fear. One of their very best character-building stories.

Table of Contents

Part 1: The Reward of Childhood Truth

Or, the story of how Truth Insures the Future for Charles and Harry

  • 1) Truth on Trial
  • 2) The Truth is Told
  • 3) The Truth is Rewarded
  • 4) A Friendship Grows

Part 2: Little Mary’s First and Last Falsehood

  • 1) Listening to Satan’s Deceitful Voice
  • 2) Mary’s Scarred Conscience
  • 3) Confess Your Faults to One Another

The Reward of Childhood Truth is one of the eleven volumes in our prized and most popular set of stories: The Children’s Character Building Collection. 

Recommended Reading Level:

  • Read on my own: 8-12
  • Read to me: 5-7

About the Stories in The Children’s Character Building Collection

One of the best gifts you could ever give a child is the eleven stories of our renowned, classic 19th-century Children’s Character Building Collection.  And this new printing of the collection is the highest-quality edition of them ever done. All 11 volumes have beautiful new art, hand-painted covers. This is our all-time favorite set of children’s stories from last century, and all with fresh artwork that captures the feel of that era!

Each of these delightful volumes is full of Biblical truth, presented in the most winsome possible stories, sure to warm the heart and teach the mind of every family member. The reading level for this set is often said to be 4th – 5th grade, but we find children of all ages enjoy them, and even adults often tell us they find them delightful to read. Check each of the books in this area of the site, for its own full description. They make wonderful read-alouds to children from K through 3rd grade too.

The Children’s Character Building Collection set includes all of the following 11 books:

  • The Bible in the Wall  (focus: reverence and love for God’s Word)
  • Godliness is Great Gain   (focus: diligence and faithfulness)
  • The Little Medicine Carrier (focus: honesty and being reliable to do what you said) 
  • The Reward of Childhood Truth (focus: truthfulness and lying)
  • The Weed With an Ill Name (focus: self-control and rooting out Pharisaical self-righteousness) 
  • Roses and Thorns (focus: integrity)
  • Tampering With Temptation (focus: resisting temptation and deceitfulness)
  • Wandering May (focus: fear of the future and trustful faith in God)
  • Little Daisy and the Swearing Class (focus: controlling your tongue)
  • Theobold the Iron-Hearted (focus: loving your enemies and not taking personal vengeance)
  • A Little Rebel Becomes a Saint (focus: kindness and obedience)